This composite of the Galilean Satellites shows images of the moons taken by the Galileo spacecraft, as well as details from the surfaces of the moons.
Click on image for full size

Galilean Satellites

The Galilean satellites are the 4 major moons of Jupiter, Io, Europa, Ganymede, and Callisto. In this picture, Io, and Ioís surface, are shown on the left-most end, then Europa, and its surface, then Ganymede, then Callisto. Of Jupiterís 60 moons, these four are the biggest.

These moons were discovered by Galileo Galilei in 1610. Their discovery by Galileo was a key piece of evidence that the Earth was not the center of the Universe. Although Galileo initially thought they were stars, his continued observations over a couple of weeks showed that the objects remained near Jupiter. He was finally able to show that they were in orbit around Jupiter, thus proving that not all objects in the heavens orbited Earth.

Last modified September 18, 2003 by Roberta Johnson.

You might also be interested in:


Ganymede was first discovered by Galileo in 1610, making it one of the Galilean Satellites. Of the 60 moons it is the 7th closest to Jupiter, with a standoff distance of 670,900 km. It is the largest moon...more

Icy Moon

Icy moons are large or small moons which are mostly made of ice. These moons are unlike the earth's moon, which is made of silicate rock. Perfect examples of icy moons are 3 of the Galilean satellites,...more

Io's Position

This drawing shows the positions of the four Galilean satellites relative to each other, and the path of the Galileo spacecraft on one of its flyby's past Jupiter. Of the four Galilean satellites, Io is...more

Jupiter's Moons and Rings

Jupiter has // Call the moon count function defined in the document head print_moon_count('jupiter'); moons and a ring system. The four Galilean satellites; Io, Europa, Ganymede, and Callisto, are among...more


Rhea was discovered by G. Cassini in 1672. Rhea is the 5th farthest moon from Saturn. It is one of the icy moons, similar to the Galilean satellites. Rhea is about as wide as the state of California is...more


Tethys was discovered by G. Cassini in 1684. Tethys is the 8th closest moon to Saturn, with a standoff distance of 294,660 km. It is one of the icy moons, similar to the Galilean satellites. Tethys is...more

The Poles of Jupiter and its Moons

Jupiter has beautiful auroral light shows and other interesting features at its poles. Jupiter has 4 large moons and many smaller ones. Three of the four big moons are covered with ice. They remind us...more

The Poles of Io

Io is a large moon of Jupiter. Jupiter has four large moons. Io is the closest of the four to Jupiter. Io has hundreds of volcanoes. It has more active volcanoes than any place else in our Solar System....more

Windows to the Universe, a project of the National Earth Science Teachers Association, is sponsored in part is sponsored in part through grants from federal agencies (NASA and NOAA), and partnerships with affiliated organizations, including the American Geophysical Union, the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, the Earth System Information Partnership, the American Meteorological Society, the National Center for Science Education, and TERC. The American Geophysical Union and the American Geosciences Institute are Windows to the Universe Founding Partners. NESTA welcomes new Institutional Affiliates in support of our ongoing programs, as well as collaborations on new projects. Contact NESTA for more information. NASA ESIP NCSE HHMI AGU AGI AMS NOAA