The Windows to the Universe Team

The team of scientists, artists, educators, programmers, and library and museum professionals that work or have worked on the Windows to the Universe project have a wide range of interests and specializations. To find out more about us, please check out the biographies we've prepared below!

Current Windows to the Universe Team:

Project Founder and Director

Dr. Roberta Johnson


Dr. Eduardo Araujo-Pradere, Consultant
Jennifer Bergman, Consultant
Becca Hatheway, UCAR
Dr. Travis Metcalfe, NCAR
Dr. Randy Russell, UCAR
Dennis Ward, UCAR

Current Postcards from the Field Contributors

Joanna Molenda-Zakowicz
Katrien Uytterhoeven
Orlagh Creevey


Susan Foster, UCAR
David Mastie, Consultant
Parker Pennington, Consultant


Dr. Julia Genyuk, UCAR


Dr. Eduardo Araujo-Pradere, Consultant


Marlene DiMarco

Windows to the Universe "Alumni" (folks who worked on this project in the past):


Dr. Lisa Gardiner
Dr. Claudia Alexander
Dr. Jon Linker
Bonnie Rubin
Michael Fisher
Dr. Virginie Colaiuta
Irfan Azeem
Macksood Aftab
Michael Burek
Dr. Janet Kozyra
Theodore Clarke
Angie J. Venturato
John Bravender
Sarah Joseph
Brian Laba
Dr. Tammy M. Long
Polsintoovly (aka Chris Gleason)

Postcards from the Field Contributors

Dr. Timothy Killeen
Dr. Brigitte Baeuerle, NCAR
Katie Beem, Graduate Student, Colorado State University
Wiesje Mooiweer Bryan, University of Wyoming
Carlye Calvin, UCAR
Dr. Patrick Chaung, California Institute of Technology
Jake Crouch, North Carolina State University
Rhea George, University of Washington
Lelia Hawkins, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Dr. Taehyoung Lee, Colorado State University
Matthew Miller
Dione Rossiter, University of California, Santa Cruz
Dr. Jeff Snider
Dr. Cynthia Twohy, Oregon State University
Dr. Robert Wood, University of Washington
Dr. Paquita Zuidema
Jean Pennycook
Dr. Kelly Carroll, POLENET
Dr. Sally Walker, University of Georgia
Tonya Riggs
Brad Clement
Dr. Robert Bindschadler, NASA
Louise Huffman
Dr. Kate Pound, St. Cloud State University
Robert Williams
Dr. Ken Mankoff, Columbia University
Robin Frisch-Gleason
Joanna Hubbard
Janine Goldstein, NCAR
Eric Simms, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Dr. Chris Cantrell, NCAR
David Greenberg, Mohawk Trail Regional School District
Dr. Barry Lefer, University of Houston
Alison Lehnherr-George, The Westminster Schools, Georgia
Dr. Judy Lloyd, SUNY Old Westbury
Oscar Peralta, National Autonomous University of Mexico
Dr. Dara Salcedo, National Autonomous University of Mexico


Rei Inamoto
Michelle McDonagh
Aisha Miller
Tobias Mixer
Nate Proulx
Mike Shibao
Ben Stevenson


Hank Thoenes
Marianne Ceritelli
Dr. Sandra Henderson
Tom Kelly

Library/Museum Specialists

Dr. Joan Durrance
Emily Lenhart
Paul Orselli
Carl Nelson
Leslie Kimall


Michael Burek
Ryan Deardorff
Lyell Haynes
Douglas Lau
Dr. Terry Weymouth
Dr. Sandra Bartlett
Dr. Craig Rasmussen
Brawnski Armstrong


Marina LaGrave
Tanya Fridman


Sheila Addington

Last modified August 29, 2010 by Roberta Johnson.

You might also be interested in:

Cool It! Game

Check out our online store - minerals, fossils, books, activities, jewelry, and household items!...more


Polsintoovly, the Bird God, joined the Windows team in May of 1999. Also known as Chris Gleason, this graduate of the University of Michigan became well versed in world mythology while working on the mythology...more

Brigitte Baeuerle

Hello everyone. My name is Brigitte Baeuerle and I am the Manager for the Field Project Services facility within NCAR’s Earth Observing Laboratory in Boulder, Colorado. I work with a small group of Project...more

Jake Crouch

I am a graduate student studying meteorology at North Carolina State University in Raleigh, NC. I grew up in Beckley, WV and obtained my B.S. in meteorology from the University of North Carolina – Asheville....more

Rhea George

Many students in atmospheric science were motivated to enter the field by some fascinating extreme weather event experienced as a child. This was not the case with me. When I was an undergraduate I was...more

Lelia Hawkins

I am starting my fourth year of graduate school at Scripps Institution of Oceanography, studying atmospheric chemistry and climate science. I love earth science and have always wanted to do something...more

Dr. Jeff Snider

I am a university professor involved in studies of the concentration and type of particles contained within clouds. It is important to know these things in order to say how often clouds produce precipitation...more

Dr. Paquita Zuidema

Hola! I am originally from the Netherlands and thereafter spent 3 years as a child in the Peruvian Andes, but I have lived most of my life in the United States. I received my bachelor's degree in physics...more

Windows to the Universe, a project of the National Earth Science Teachers Association, is sponsored in part is sponsored in part through grants from federal agencies (NASA and NOAA), and partnerships with affiliated organizations, including the American Geophysical Union, the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, the Earth System Information Partnership, the American Meteorological Society, the National Center for Science Education, and TERC. The American Geophysical Union and the American Geosciences Institute are Windows to the Universe Founding Partners. NESTA welcomes new Institutional Affiliates in support of our ongoing programs, as well as collaborations on new projects. Contact NESTA for more information. NASA ESIP NCSE HHMI AGU AGI AMS NOAA